Monday, March 11, 2013

Taking a Break

I can't keep up this blog as well as I would want to...it's too much work right now, with school, and everything else. I will hopefully take it back up during the summer, when I have more time.

I will be post reviews that were requested. So don't worry authors! I will review and post it!

Thank you for understanding! See you all in the summer!!

-M.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Swoon Thursday #3

http://ya-bound.blogspot.com

My swoon this Thursday, is from Wait for You by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout).

(this book has so many good swoon moments! But I'll only pick one. ;))

"My hands were still attached to his arms. He reached up, tracing the line of my lower lip and then he leaned in again. "No, that wasn't a kiss." his lips brushed mine in the most tantalizing, promising way. "That was a good night."

AHHHH. SWWOOOON. *happy sigh*

What is your swoon for this week? Have you read WAIT FOR YOU? (if not, you need to. Just sayin.)

-M.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Oops

Sorry for the lack of reviews these past two weeks!! There will be a review this Sunday!!

Saturday, March 2, 2013

Stacking the Shelves #8

I got some good stuff this week!!


Bought:





Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Wait For You by J. Lynn/Jennifer L. Armentrout








For Review:

Girls & Monsters by Anne Michaud

ONE by Leigh Ann Kopans









Won:


Sever by Lauren DeStefano. (plus other awesome mystery books she's going to send me!!)


















What did you guys get??

-M.

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Waiting on Wens. #6

Today, I am waiting on:


Hand to hand combat training: Check
Cardio and strength training: Check
Daemon hunting: Check
Anomaly: Check

Check, check, check, check...That's all my life is. There's nothing ordinary about me. I'm "special." I know this because I'm reminded of it every stinking day. I can kick a Daemon's ass with both hands tied behind my back. I can run up a mountain without breaking a sweat. Know what I can't do? Get guys to notice me, or hang out with friends like normal people do. I can't just be ordinary because I have an Arch Angel for a mentor who is always breathing down my neck, and a family of angelic Guides and Protectors who scrutinize every little thing I do. Just for a day I want a life where I'm no longer some anomaly, where I don't have to feel like a lab rat.

And then I met Emrys. Okay, so my mentor and family hate him, but probably for good reason. After-all, he is a Soul Trader, and they aren't the most trust worthy beings. But, he is sooo hot with his green eyes, leather jacket and the sexiest tattoo you've ever seen running down his back. And-he doesn't treat me like a project.

I've got myself in quite a little quandary here. Choosing between my responsibilities and the Trader that holds my heart is something I didn't sign up for. Torn between two different worlds, I must now decide who to trust and who to walk away from. What's a girl to do? See what I mean? I am an anomaly. I am Jordyn.



What are all you waiting on this week??

-M.

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Staking the Shelves #7



Look what I got this week:



Bought:



Pre-ordered:




Library:



Won:



What did you all get this week?

-M.

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Swoon Thursday #2

yabound.blogspot.com



This week's swoon is from CREWEL by Gennifer Albin!

But he barely gets the words out, because my mouth is on his. I'm kissing him out of joy or maybe panic, but soon the kiss shifts from excitement to something much more serious, and my body molds up against his. His lips move slowly, his hand pressing against the of my back. I want to weave this moment out and make it last forever.


Have a swoon for me? Leave the link to the comments!

-M.

Wednesday, February 20, 2013

Waiting on Wens. #5

Today, I  am waiting on:

The past few years have held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner could ever have anticipated. Yet from the dizzying highs of first love, to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she can no longer deny is that she was never meant to live a normal life.

Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seems like the best option, so she’s headed back to California - and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he’s not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won’t come without sacrifices and betrayal.

In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must decide her fate once and for all.



This is going to be a bittersweet read, but I can't wait to get a chance to read it! What are you guys waiting on?

-M.

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Review: Shadows in the Silence by Courtney Allison Moulton

Your strength in heart and hand will fall. . . .
Ellie knows that the darkest moments are still to come, and she has everything to fight for:

She must fight for Will.
The demonic have resorted to their cruelest weapons to put Will in mortal danger, and Ellie makes an unlikely alliance to save him and to stop Lilith and Sammael, who seek to drown the world in blood and tear a hole into Heaven.

She must fight for humanity.
As the armies of Hell rise and gather for the looming End of Days, Ellie and her band of allies travel to the world’s darkest and most ancient regions in her quest to come into her full glory as the archangel Gabriel.

And Ellie must save herself.Her humanity withers beneath the weight of her cold archangel power, but Ellie must hold tight to who she is and who she loves as she prepares for the ultimate battle for Heaven and Earth.

In this final installment in the Angelfire trilogy, Courtney Allison Moulton brings her dark world of epic battles and blistering romance to a blazing bright conclusion.




Review:

Plot:

I've been waiting for this book for a long time. Ever since I finished ANGELFIRE, and then WINGS OF THE WICKED. I needed this book.

Some books at the end of series's don't tie up things very well. But SHADOWS IN THE SILENCE didn't, everything wrapped up. This book was amazing, and I loved it to the very last word.

Characters:

Ellie has always been a heroine that didn't bother me with her strength  like 'I'm big and strong and don't have normal emotions  kind of heroine  Because even though she was an angel once, she was still human. She cried, and was still human. And I loved her for it!

Will has always been a favorite of mine!! He's quiet, yet he knows what he wants, and goes after it. But it always asks permission first. And I love that about him. <3 and he's also seriously cute. So he gets extra points for that. (and don't forget about the tattoos!!)

Cadan wasn't one of my favorite characters, but it was cool to see how Ellie and him got along all through the book. And with Cadan and Will. I think they're going to be great friends. ;)

Along with all the other characters, it was a stellar cast, and I'm going to miss them!!

Romance:

Even though I don't agree with going too far before your married, I wasn't too bugged by Will and Ellie doing it. I thought it was sort of sweet. Even though I'm against that.

Ellie and Will are a perfect couple. And their romance was super sweet!

Writing:

That 'I said' thing happened a lot in this book. But I tried to push past it, and enjoy the story. (and enjoy it I did!!) I love Ellie's way of talking. And how things are described, not to the point where I'm jumping over paragraphs to get on with the story. It was just right!!!

Wrap-up:

I'm cried at the end of the book. It was the perfect ending to a perfect series. You guys need to read this series, ok? Ok.

I hope Courtney writes other things!! Can't wait for more!!

Rating:

5 stars!

-M.


Saturday, February 16, 2013

Staking the Shelves #6





Library:

Perfect Scoundrels by Ally Carter.




Bought:


Jordyn by Tiffany King.


...

What did you all get this week?? Tell me below in the comments!

-M.


Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Waiting on Wens. #4

Today, I am waiting on:

Feb. 12th 2013

Summary: 

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.



What are you waiting on?

-M.

Monday, February 11, 2013

{Breaking Waves Blog Tour Stop} Guest Post & Character Interview


Today, I have the awesome Danielle Sibarium here, and her awesome character, Reece! Also check out the awesome giveaway at the bottom!


Thank you so much Madison Louise for allowing me to talk to your friends about my gift.
Have you ever know something without knowing you knew it? Okay that sounds a little confusing, I guess what I’m trying to say is did you ever know something was going to happen before it actually happened? Not that you thought it would happen because of other circumstances, like those dark clouds are making it look like it’s midnight, therefore, it will rain. More along the lines of you knew something extraordinary would happen today, or which horse would win the Kentucky Derby.  You just sort of knew?
It’s hard to explain, but that’s how I’ve been my whole life. I knew things would happen. Only I knew just before they happened, not like days or weeks, but maybe hours or minutes. Like if the phone rang, I’d know without checking the caller ID who called. I thought everyone had that “intuition,” that’s what my mom called it, but I guess I was wrong.
It wasn’t until my sophomore year of high school when my teacher started doing handwriting analysis on the class that I realized I could interpret energy. A few of us got together for a study group. We took a break and some of the guys started ripping on our teacher who was too busy analyzing us to teach us chemistry. That’s when I picked up a pen and started talking about Craig.
I told the group he had a secret, a deep, dark secret he was desperate to keep hidden. He turned red and snatched the pen away from me. Everyone looked at him. Wow, before that, I had no idea his mother ran off with his uncle. He cornered me in the hall and asked how I knew. Craig and his father just moved from some small town in Pennsylvania a few months earlier. I thought his mother died. I promised I wouldn’t tell anyone.
After Craig, Rania handed me her bracelet and asked if I could tell her anything.  I closed my eyes and felt the energy flow from the object into me. I asked her if March 1st meant anything to her. It felt special, like something good was associated with it. She jumped up and down. It was her boyfriend’s birthday. She later told me, she planned to give him a very special gift for his birthday, and my reading convinced her to go through with it.
Soon people started approaching me in the hall at school, or on my way home asking me for a reading. At first I gave one to everyone that asked. But soon I realized I got massive migraines when I gave readings. I started saying no, but if I got cornered at a party, like the night I met Reece, I’d feel like I had to give them.
When I met Reece, it all changed. I don’t know why, but when we kissed, it was like I knew what he felt, as if I were him. It thrilled and terrified me. I knew I’d be broken, shattered when he eventually left me. Soon after we started dating, came the visions. Maybe they started because our attraction was so intense, or because our love ran so deep. I don’t know why. There were just a few, but they really left their mark on me.   
But lately, I’ve tried to shut it all down. I’m just so emotional I don’t know what I should believe. I feel like I can’t trust myself. I know I’m being a total downer, I’m sorry.  That’s not why you asked me here, I just can’t shake this awful feeling that my life is going to be turned upside down any minutes, and that I’ll lose Reece forever. 


Thank you Jenna for stopping by!!

Now here's Reece, answering some little questions I thought up:



What’s your favorite food?
My favorite food  . . . that easy, but my mother would die if she heard me say this, French fries.

Favorite music group/soloist?
I love music, I don’t really have a favorite, but right now there are a few songs I really feel connected to. Maybe you’ve heard of them? Daylight by Maroon 5, When I was Your Man by Bruno Mars, and Mr. Brightside by the Killers.

Have you ever played a sport?
Of course I played sports.  I have all my baseball trophy’s and swim medals to show for it.  Besides, who do you think taught Aaron to be such an amazing pitcher?

What do you want to be when you grow up?
I know for sure I don’t want to be a lawyer. I just wish I could get my parents to understand that. I’d love to have a job where I could spend my days hacking into systems legitimately. That would be my dream job. I guess that would fall under information security.  

Have you ever owned any pets? If so, what animal?
No. My mother doesn’t like them, they’re too dirty. I’d love to have a dog though. I always wanted to grow up with a puppy.

Ok, now for a speedy round:

Hot or Cold?
Hot. Definitely hot! *wink*

Van or SUV?
SUV

Blue or Red?
Red. It’s a color of heat and passion.

Fast or slow?
Slow I like to take my time and tease, make things last a while. Unless it’s falling in love with Jenna. That was instantaneous. 



Thank you Reece for stopping by! ;)


Interested in Breaking Waves? Here's some more info on it:


Breaking Waves by Danielle Sibarium (Heart Waves #2)
Publication Date: January 10, 2013
Publisher: KFR Communications

From the moment they met, Jenna knew Reece would break her heart, but she never dreamed it would happen like this. Jenna is left shattered and broken. When life becomes too painful to deal with and she feels completely alone, there’s only one person to help her pick up the pieces and move on. The one person she doesn’t want to turn to. The one person she promised to stay away from. Tyler.

Can Jenna put aside everything she knows about him and let Tyler help heal her broken heart?



Goodreads Link to Breaking Waves
: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16300981-breaking-waves

Buy Links:

- Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Breaking-Waves-Heart-ebook/dp/B00AYK45UM/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&qid=1358036030&sr=8-12&keywords=breaking+waves

- B&N Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/breaking-waves-danielle-sibarium/1114083042?ean=2940016101903



Now for the awesome giveaway! It's open int'l!!!


a Rafflecopter giveaway


About the author:

Danielle Sibarium grew up as an only child of divorced parents in Brooklyn, New York. Her imagination was developed at an early age. Surrounded by stuffed animals and imaginary friends, she transported herself into a fantasy world full of magic and wonder. Books were the gateway between her play world and reality. On any given summer afternoon she became Snow White sweeping and cooking for the dwarfs, or Cinderella waiting for the prince.

Danielle always loved dialogue and in elementary school began writing plays and short stories. This is when she began to understand she could not only bring her fantastical world to life for herself, but she could enchant others as well. And so she wrote. She wrote and wrote and wrote.

Sadly the first piece she ever sent out for publication of any sort was a letter to the editor of The Home News Tribune. It was a piece thanking the first responders for their bravery and selflessness on Sept 11th. It was chosen as letter of the week.

In 2007 Danielle collaborated with Charlotte Doreen Small to write songs for her CD More. Danielle wrote the lyrics for Take My Hand, and Goodbye, while Charlotte contributed the melody.

 In October 2011 Danielle’s debut novel For Always was released. She has since released Heart Waves and the second book in the Heart Waves series, Breaking Waves

Danielle graduated from Farleigh Dickinson University with honors, and currently lives in New Jersey with her husband and three children.

 Connect with Danielle Sibarium:

Website: http://www.daniellesibarium.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sibarium

Goodreads page: http://www.goodreads.com/Daniellesibarium

Heart Waves Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/heartwavesbook

-M.

Sunday, February 10, 2013

Review: Sacrifice by Cayla Kluver

This is not the time for the fight to end. Now is when the fight will begin. This is the time to regain what has been lost.Alera

Queen of a fallen kingdom, secretly in love with the enemy.

Shaselle

Daughter of a murdered father, rebel with a cause.

One lives behind the former Hytanican palace walls and walks the razor's edge to keep the fragile peace in her beloved homeland. The other slips through the war-torn streets, seeking retribution for her family's tragedy, following whispers of insurgency.

Both face choices that will separate them from those they cannot help but love. As their stories intertwine, a conspiracy ignites that may end in slavery or death—or lead to freedom anew, if only each can face what must be sacrificed.




Review:

***Tiny spoilers if you haven't read the previous books!!***

Plot:

Cayla Kluver is an amazing writer. This series, LEGACY. Was AH-MAZING. And it's last book was also, AH-MAZING. The way everything ties up at the end, just...no words. And I kept learning things as I went along, things I had forgotten about that went on in the past two books. I just loved SACRIFICE, and the plotting was awesome.

Characters:

I loved the double POV, I think it really went well for the last book. Seeing things from two different girl's perspective. It really worked.

As usual, I love Alera. She started out not as strong in the past books, but by the end of the series, she knew what she wanted, and she was strong. She fought for her country and for those she loved. She is an amazing queen. She totally fought against Hytanican tradition. She is so brave!

Shaselle was so head strong, and I liked that about her. Even though I was freaking out when she didn't listen, I was annoyed with her. She just wanted her country to be free again, and even though she wanted revenge, she wasn't like crazed with it. Like other characters in this book. *cough* Rava *cough*

NARIAN!! MARRY ME! *coughs* sorry...er...yes! He was an amazing character. I've always loved him. Even though he like never lets people in!! I just want to hug him!! And even though he was young, he fit into his role given to him. Just...awesome.

Steldor wasn't a big part in this book, as past. He was mostly in Shaselle's POV. As her cousin, and as someone she looked up to. It was a great side to Steldor, then past books.

Cannan is just an awesome guy. Totally a figure head of what a leader and father, uncle should look like. This guy knew how to be awesome!

Along with many more characters, this cast as killer!

Romance:

One of the things I loved about this series, was how the romance wasn't portrayed a lot. Like Cayla would write, "and I gave him a quick kiss" nothing more. She just kissed him. I liked that. And I didn't get bored with there not being enough romance. Shaselle's love life didn't come until towards the middle of the book, and it was totally worth it. She needed someone who understood her, and wasn't trying to change the way she is.

Writing:

When I started LEGACY, the first book, I was a little tired of how everything was described so well, my imagination did no work, and it was a little annoying. But in the last two books, it calmed down, and I liked that a lot. The writing was amazing, Cayla's tone is just...I don't know how to describe it, but I loved it.  Her waiting is to flawless. Didn't annoy me at all. And that pet peeve, where someone says something but the author doesn't describe how they said it, was in here, but it didn't bother me...Cayla's writing is just amazing!

Wrap-up:

This book made me cry, shout and got my heart racing. There are no words to describe how good this book was.

You guys need to read this series!!

Rating:

5 stars!!!

-M.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Waiting on Wens. #3

Today, I am waiting on:




Sybella arrives at the convent’s doorstep half mad with grief and despair. Those that serve Death are only too happy to offer her refuge—but at a price. Naturally skilled in both the arts of death and seduction, the convent views Sybella as one of their most dangerous weapons.

But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of Death himself, He must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

This heart-pounding sequel to Grave Mercy serves betrayal, treachery, and danger in equal measure, bringing readers back to fifteenth century Brittany and will keep them on the edge of their seats.

What are you waiting on reading?

-M.

Sunday, February 3, 2013

Review: Tight Knit by Allie Brennan

Talia Gregory relies on her Nan for everything, especially helping her calm the anxiety that controls her life. But Nan gets sick, and it couldn’t be worse timing. Talia’s panic attacks are getting worse, her boyfriend is a jerk, her best friend is distant, her parents are more absent than usual and she’s stuck planning the Cozy Christmas Charity Drive for her knitting group in place of Nan. If that’s not panic inducing enough, enter Lachlan.

Lachlan McCreedy doesn’t rely on anyone. Not after what he’s been through. It’s him and Gram, nothing else matters but keeping his past buried, and his secrets hidden. So when Gram forces him to help with her Christmas sale, Talia is the last thing he expected, and trusting her with his secrets comes as a shock to both of them. But when he unexpectedly falls for her, the question becomes can he trust her with his heart?

~Mature YA~>




Review:

Plot:

AHHHHHHH. I love this book so much...*flails* I've been wanting to read it by the time Allie posted the GR page link on Twitter, and I read the summary. And the cover...it's so pretty!! I think that's what Talia looks like!

The plot was short and sweet, and it was amazing. One of the best Comtemps. I've read. And the double POV was very well written!

Characters:

I love real life people, I love seeing a heroine that isn't all tough all the time, and never cries. Talia cries, and do I care? No, I cry about stuff, I cry about stupid stuff, it's a human thing to do, and I loved that about Talia. I loved how she conquered her fears, and found happiness. And how she loved to knit!! I love reading about girls who have passions about something, it makes the reading a lot more enjoyable!

Lachlan wasn't your typical bad boy. Not like those bad boys in other books that are just...moody and have tattoos. Lachlan had a reason why he was moody and had tattoos. He was real. And I liked that a lot. I loved how by the end of the story, he was trying to overcome all this problems. <3

And the grandmas!! LOVED them! They stuck up for their grandchildren when on one else would. They were really close to what REAL grandmas are like.

Along with the rest of the cast, it was an awesome character set. I think I would want to be friends with all these people!! (including Deacon. lol)

Romance:

Since it was a novella, the romance happened pretty quick, not that I minded. Talia and Lachlan were meant for each other!! To the playful flirting to the first kiss, to the next kiss. I just loved the romance.

But by one complaint was how after knowing each other for only a short time, (and not being married) they went a little too far. The book didn't need that, sure they needed each other, but they didn't need to go that far. The book would be amazing without it!

And the nickname Lachlan has for Talia! "Hat Girl" LOVE IT. And how she calls him bad boy. Yeah, that was pretty awesome.

Writing:

I have no complaints about this writing, it totally fits in with what I look for in writing. When someone said something, Allie wrote how they said it, and if they did anything while saying it. (that's one of my biggest pet peeves, and she didn't have it AT ALL.)

And how to went back and forth between Talia and Lachlan, she did an amazing job. Lachlan's POV wasn't too boysih, (like visual) it was just right, kind of like a real boy would think.

Wrap up:

I hope there is a book 2, but I need to read it. This was an AWESOME debut novel from Allie, and I can't wait to read what else she's working on!!

Read my swoon from TIGHT KNIT here.

Rating:

5 stars!!

-M.

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Staking the Shelves #5


Didn't get a lot this week, but the books are amazing!



Library:



I started SACRIFCE already, and I'm loving it! I love the double POV. And I can't wait to start CREWEL! I've heard good things about this book.

---


What did ya'll get this week??

-M.

Thursday, January 31, 2013

Swoon Thursday #1


My first swoon! And it's from Tight Knit by Allie Brennan.

"A little closer," he whispers now. His knees spread even wider apart, and I step in between them. He's leaning over me and I feel his breath on my face. My arms are locked at my side. "We shouldn't, Lachlan." My head is angled down. My voice is breathy. It matches the light but also heavy feelings in my chest, my stomach, my knees. I feel like I'm floating and sinking at the same time. "I know we shouldn't." he touches his forehead to mine. "But I want to. I have to. It's killing me."

Ahhh! So good. Loving this book!!!

-M.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Quickie Review: Double Crossed by Ally Carter

Macey McHenry—Glamorous society girl or spy-in-training?

W.W. Hale V—Heir to an American dynasty or master thief?

There are two sides to every coin. Whether these two can work together is a tossup.

Born into privilege, Macey and Hale are experts at mingling with the upper class. But even if they’ve never raised an eyebrow at the glitz, neither teenager has ever felt at home with the glamour.

When Macey and Hale meet at a society gala, the party takes a dangerous turn. Suddenly they’re at the center of a hostage situation, and it’s up to them to stop the thugs from becoming hostile. Will Macey’s spy skills and Hale’s con-man ways be enough to outsmart a ruthless gang? Or will they have to seek out the ultimate inside girl to help?

The worlds of Heist Society and the Gallagher Girls collide in Ally Carter’s fast-paced, high-stakes and tantalizing new story. Get a behind the scenes glimpse as Ally delivers an irresistible thriller that is full of her signature style and savvy twists.


Review:

Ally Carter was my first YA author to ever read, and she got me started reading more. I loved her GG series, and Heist Society. Ally really knows how to plot.

In DOUBLE CROSSED Macey (from GG) and Hale (from Heist) come together to try and solve a crime, and it was so good. I would have never guessed how had set the whole thing up from the beginning  And it's always cool when totally different characters from two books come together to help, always something I enjoy alot!

And how it was from second person POV (not a real POV, but that's what I call it) Ally does such a great job with that, I just love her books. And this one didn't disappoint!

It's FREE now! So go and get your ecopy! :)

I can't wait for GG6, and Heist 3!

Rating:

5 stars!

-M.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Quickie Review: The Next Forever by Lisa Burstien

One night in college can change everything…

Away at college, Amy just wants one night alone without her high school sweetheart, Joe. So when he invites her to go to the library, she heads off on her own instead. How she ended up at a house party with the mysterious bad-boy Trevor is another story…

Joe so isn’t going to the library. He needs space from Amy, too, so he’s decided to rush a fraternity, to get back the swagger he had in high school. But it doesn’t take long for the brothers to invite him to the real rush here the beer is flowing and one particular girl has set her eyes on Joe.

Over the course of one wild night, both Amy and Joe will have to decide if their futures belong with two new people, or whether the next forever will have their first loves in it.




Review:

I LOVED Pretty Amy, it totally said what was true, and I think I could save a lot of girls from doing things they shouldn't. It was a great life lesson.

THE NEXT FOREVER wasn't a life lesson, it was a NA Comtemp. Romance, and it was still good! I loved reading Amy and Joe's story.

The only thing that didn't enjoy very much, was how they kept arguing with themselves throughout the whole book, they weren't sure what they wanted, and they were having a hard time figuring out what they wanted, so through the whole book, it was them arguing with themselves.

Now, I'm not an adult yet, I'm still a teen, a young teen at that, and maybe I just didn't understand that. (most likely)

But the ending did it in for me, it was such a happy ending, and I hope we get to read more about Joe and Amy in the future!! And the cover...woooeee...;)

Rating:

4 stars!

-M.

Monday, January 28, 2013

It's Monday! What are YOU reading?

bookjourney.wordpress.com




This week, I am reading:



Talia Gregory relies on her Nan for everything, especially helping her calm the anxiety that controls her life. But Nan gets sick, and it couldn’t be worse timing. Talia’s panic attacks are getting worse, her boyfriend is a jerk, her best friend is distant, her parents are more absent than usual and she’s stuck planning the Cozy Christmas Charity Drive for her knitting group in place of Nan. If that’s not panic inducing enough, enter Lachlan.


Lachlan McCreedy doesn’t rely on anyone. Not after what he’s been through. It’s him and Gram, nothing else matters but keeping his past buried, and his secrets hidden. So when Gram forces him to help with her Christmas sale, Talia is the last thing he expected, and trusting her with his secrets comes as a shock to both of them. But when he unexpectedly falls for her, the question becomes can he trust her with his heart?



~Mature YA~>



I am SO excited about this one!!

-M.

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Review: Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

Laying hands upon the injured and dying, Avry of Kazan assumes their wounds and diseases into herself. But rather than being honored for her skills, she is hunted. Healers like Avry are accused of spreading the plague that has decimated the Territories, leaving the survivors in a state of chaos.

Stressed and tired from hiding, Avry is abducted by a band of rogues who, shockingly, value her gift above the golden bounty offered for her capture. Their leader, an enigmatic captor-protector with powers of his own, is unequivocal in his demands: Avry must heal a plague-stricken prince—leader of a campaign against her people. As they traverse the daunting Nine Mountains, beset by mercenaries and magical dangers, Avry must decide who is worth healing and what is worth dying for. Because the price of peace may well be her life....





Review:

Plot:

Again, I'm a sucker for great plots, and how the author ties everything together at the end. I totally can't do that...(at least now in the first book) I loved all the twists and turns, I loved all the places they went. I just love SF and Fantasy!

Characters:

Avry was a great character. I liked her, she was stubborn, but not too stubborn, I wasn't annoyed when she tried to stand up for something and be stubborn, I agreed with her.

I was Team Kerrick from the start. He was totally mean in the beinging, but Avry totally softened his heart. And it wasn't insta-love either. It was down-to-the-last-chapters-love. The BEST kind of love. It always makes you want the second book a whole lot more.

The monkeys were hilarious, how they all worked together, and accepted Avry, Belen was so sweet, Flea was awesome, and all the others were just great, I wish I could meet them! haha

Tohan, when we read about him drove me nuts with his 'my dears'. And he was so insane and boastful. O.o

Writing:

It was good writing. It wasn't horrible, or perfect. The only I thing I didn't like, was the lack of action. Like all the characters did half the time was: I said. how did she say it? Did she look at something a certain way when she said it? It was like they had no emotion on their voice. And also how it looked like the author was trying to make scenes shorter, for sake of words and pages. But the writing didn't make me hate the book. I was just a little disappointed.

Romance:

The romance didn't start to the very end of the book, and that was totally ok with me. I enjoyed it alot! Could use a little less on one page, looks like their relationship went too fast. But otherwise than that, it was kind of like MG romance, not describing everything in huge detail. I liked it!

Wrap up:

I loved Avry's healer powers, even though they had a catch, this book was awesome. It was MG until the last few chapters, and I liked it that way. YA authors should write like that a lot more. And the swearing wasn't huge either, which was a HUGE relief. I cannot WAIT for book 2!!

Rating:

4 stars.

-M.

Saturday, January 26, 2013

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Waiting on Wens. #2

Today, I am waiting on:


June 11th 2013
I can't wait to see the cover!! 

What are YOU waiting on?

-M.